Customer support

Email: support@filmingo.ch
Phone: +41 56 430 12 30
Mo-Fr from 9am to 5pm

How to use filmingo

filmingo works on most modern browsers. Simply open filmingo.ch and play the movie of your choice.

Tip: Play the test clip below before you rent a movie.

The Filmingo app lets you browse the collection and watch movies on your iPhone or iPad.

Tip: The app can also be used to stream movies wirelessly to Apple TV devices.

You can use Filmingo with the browser of your Android device.

Tip: For quick access as an app, select "Add to Home Screen" from the browser menu.

Connect your TV or beamer to your laptop using a suitable HDMI cable. Then use the remote control to select the HDMI input.

Tip: If no image appears yet, adjust the settings of your laptop under Control Panel > Display.

Instructions for Mac Computers

With an Apple TV, you can watch movies conveniently and easily wirelessly on your TV or projector. Start a movie on your Macintosh laptop (Safari Browser) or on your iPhone or iPad (with the Filmingo app). Then click on the AirPlay icon to start the wireless transfer.

Depending on the Apple TV generation, there may be interruptions in the transmission of subtitles. If this happens, we recommend that you temporarily do without transmission via Apple TV and instead connect the playback device directly to the TV/beamer via HDMI cable. We are currently trying to find a solution to this problem.

Learn more about Apple TV

Apple TV setup and support

With a Chromecast Stick you can watch movies wirelessly on your TV or beamer

More information about Chromecast

How to set up a Chromecast

1. Start a movie in Google Chrome Browser and click on the Chromecast icon in the player
2. Instead of "Cast filmingo.ch" select the option "Cast tab".
3. Click on the name of your Chromecast to start the transmission.

Frequently Asked Questions for filmingo (FAQ)

How it works

How can I rent films?
You have the choice: You can either rent films individually or choose one of three subscriptions.
How long can I watch a film that I rented?
You can watch rented movies for five days (120 hours) as often as you like and continue on any device. This applies to both the subscription and individual rents.
Who is behind filmingo?
The platform is operated by the trigon-film foundation and replaces the former Online Cinema of the film distributor. trigon-film is a Swiss non-profit film foundation that has been distributing carefully selected films from Latin America, Asia, Africa and Eastern Europe since 1986. filmingo was launched in 2019 in order to open the streaming platform for other distributors and their films. The platform offers film highlights mostly from European and World Cinema as well as film classics from all over the world on a subscription basis or individual rental.
In which countries can I use filmingo?
Depending on where you are, the number of films available varies according to the legal situation. There are no restrictions in Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Only the movies available at your current location will be displayed.
What subtitles are available?
As a Swiss platform we give priority to German and French subtitles, therefore those two languages are available for almost all films. Depending on the legal situation and availabilities, we also offer English or Italian subtitles. The subtitles for each film can be viewed on the respective film page before the film rental.
Can I download a movie and watch it from anywhere?
No. The movies cannot be downloaded, you need a permanent internet connection with sufficient transfer speed.

Test Clip

Subscription

Which films can I watch with a subscription?
You can view all films available at your location. There are no additional restrictions.
How many movies can I watch with a subscription?
Depending on your subscription you can rent two (Filmfriend subscription), five (Filmfan subscription) or an unlimited number of films (Filmlover subscription) per month at no additional cost. You can watch rented movies for five days (120 hours) as often as you like and continue them on any device.
In which countries is the filmingo subscription available?
The subscription is available in Switzerland, Austria and Germany. Depending on the country you are in, the number of films available varies according to the legal situation. Only the movies available at your current location will be displayed.
How can I test the subscription?
Start with the monthly Filmfriend subscription. If you are not satisfied afterwards, you can cancel your subscription at any time in your account or upgrade it to a different subscription plan.
What are the payment methods are available?
You can pay for your subscription by credit card (Visa or Mastercard), with the PostFinance Card, via PostFinance e-finance or by invoice. You can choose between an annual subscription or a monthly credit card charge (Visa/Mastercard only). An annual subscription gives you two months for free. If you wish to pay by invoice, your subscription will usually be activated within five working days after receipt of payment. We will inform you by e-mail as soon as your account is activated.
When will the monthly film credit be renewed?
The monthly film credit is renewed on the day you purchased the subscription. Example: If you buy your subscription on March 14, your film credit will be renewed on the 14th of each month. In your account you can find an overview of your current film credit, your rented films and the rental data.
Can I transfer unused film credit to the next month?
No. Similar to a mobile phone subscription, the monthly film credit expires when it is not used. But even if you do not use up your full contingent every month, your subscription will still help to support film production from South and East!
What happens when the film credit is used up?
You can still rent films individually or switch to a subscription with more film credit (see „How can I change my subscription?“).
How can I renew or change my subscription?
You will find all the options to renew or cancel your subscriptions under "My account". If you have chosen automatic renewal, your subscription will be renewed until you cancel it in your account. If you want to change your subscription (for example an upgrade from Filmfriend to Filmfan subscription), cancel your existing subscription and resubscribe to the subscription plan of your choice. The new subscription comes into effect on the day on which the cancelled subscription expires. If you want an immediate update, please contact us.
How can I cancel my subscription?
With monthly payment your subscription will be automatically renewed. You can cancel your subscription at any time in your account. To do so, click on „My account“ and you will find further instructions there. With annual payment you have the choice between automatic renewal or expiry of your subscription after one year. We will send you a reminder a month before renewal or expiration. You can stop the automatic renewal at any time in your account.
How can I deposit another credit card as a method of payment?
To use a different credit card, you have to cancel the current subscription and buy a new one with the new card. The existing subscription will be cancelled per the end of the period that has already been paid for and the new subscription will start the day after.
Why are there fewer films available online in Germany and Austria than in Switzerland?
Film rights are tied to territories. We can only display films where the territorial rights are covered.
Where can I redeem my gift subscription?
You can redeem your gift voucher here. You will have to create an account first or log in with an existing account.
How much time to I have to redeem my gift subscription?
The voucher is valid for two years after purchase. The period of validity is printed on the gift voucher.

Watch movies

How do I change the subtitles?
To change the subtitles, click on the "CC" button in the bottom right corner of the player. If you're using the iOS app, you can select the subtitles with the speech bubble at the bottom right. The available subtitles can be seen on the respective film page before the film rental.
Playback is not smooth
Try closing other programs on your computer and close open browser tabs and windows. If this does not help, select a lower image resolution using the settings button in the player.
The video stops regularly
Video streaming required high transfer rates. If you are connected to the Internet via a wireless network (WLAN or mobile data network), a good reception signal is required. Use the settings button to reduce the video resolution and watch movies over slow connections. Please note that the connection via a mobile WLAN hotspot is usually too slow.
The video quality is poor
Most movies are available in HD resolution (720p). Depending on the Internet connection, the player selects a lower resolution. Use the settings button in the player to change the resolution manually. There are some older titles of which there exist no flawless digital copies. We still want to make these films available, so we offer them in 480p. You can find the resolution available of each movie on the respective film page before rental.
Subtitles are not displayed
The subtitles can be selected using the "CC" button in the player. If you use an iPhone or iPad, we recommend using our iOS app. If the subtitles disappear during the movie, please try to reload the page.
The image on my TV screen or projector is small or cut off
Adjust the image aspect ratio in your TV or projector settings.
I connected my laptop to my TV or projector with a cable and the sound keeps coming from the wrong device
You can select in your laptop's system settings whether the sound is to be played through the internal speakers or the connected device.

For any further questions, please contact us per mail at support@filmingo.ch or per phone at +41 56 430 12 30.

If you have a technical problem, please send us an e-mail with a detailed description of the problem, including any error messages (preferably with a screenshot) as well as information about the devices you would like to watch the film with.

filmingo offers a curated selection of arthouse films for streaming by subscription or individual rental. Run by the Swiss foundation trigon-film.

Support
+41 56 430 12 30
support@filmingo.ch
Mo-Fr from 9am to 5pm
Stay connected

Sign up now for the monthly filmingo newsletter and stay up to date on all the new movies available for streaming as well as new categories and monthly film tips!

Kundensupport

Email: support@filmingo.ch
Telefon: +41 56 430 12 30
Mo-Fr von 9:00 bis 17:00 Uhr

So können Sie filmingo nutzen

filmingo funktioniert auf den meisten modernen Browsern. Einfach filmingo.ch öffnen und Film abspielen.

Tipp: Spielen Sie vor der Miete den Testclip ab.

Dank der Filmingo-App können Sie auf Ihrem iPhone oder iPad bequem die Kollektion durchstöbern und Filme anschauen.

Tipp: Mit der App können zudem Filme drahtlos auf Apple TV Geräte übertragen werden.

Sie können Filmingo mit dem Browser Ihres Android Gerätes nutzen.

Tipp: Für den schnellen Zugriff als App wählen Sie im Browser-Menü "Zum Startbildschirm zufügen".

Verbinden Sie Ihren TV oder Beamer über ein passendes HDMI-Kabel mit Ihrem Laptop. Wählen Sie danach mit der Fernbedienung den HDMI-Eingang aus.

Tipp: Wenn nun noch kein Bild erscheint passen Sie die Einstellungen Ihres Laptops an unter Systemsteuerung > Anzeige.

Anleitung für Mac-Computer

Mit einem Apple TV Gerät können Sie Filme bequem und einfach drahtlos auf Ihrem TV oder Beamer anschauen. Starten Sie dazu einen Film auf Ihrem Macintosh Laptop (Safari Browser) oder auf ihrem iPhone oder iPad (mit der Filmingo App). Klicken Sie danach auf das AirPlay Icon um die drahtlose Übertragung zu starten.

Je nach Apple TV Generation kann es zu Unterbrüchen in der Übertragung der Untertitel kommen. Falls das bei Ihnen auftritt, empfehlen wir Ihnen, vorübergehend auf die Übertragung via Apple TV zu verzichten und stattdessen das Abspielgerät direkt via HDMI-Kabel an den Fernseher/Beamer anzuschliessen. Wir sind derzeit daran, eine Lösung für das Problem zu finden.

Weitere Informationen zum Apple TV

Hilfe zum Apple TV

Mit einem Chromecast Stick können Sie Filme drahtlos auf Ihrem TV oder Beamer anschauen.

Weitere Informationen zum Chromecast

Hilfe zum Einrichten eines Chromecasts

1. Starten Sie einen Film im Google Chrome Browser und klicken Sie auf das Chromecast Icon im Player.
2. Wählen Sie anstelle von "Cast filmingo.ch" die Option "Cast tab"
3. Klicken Sie auf den Namen Ihres Chromecasts, um mit der Übertragung zu starten.

Häufig gestellte Fragen zu filmingo (FAQ)

So funktioniert‘s

Wie kann ich Filme mieten?
Wir überlassen Ihnen die Wahl: Sie können Filme einzeln mieten oder eines von drei Abos auswählen.
Wie lange kann ich einen gemieteten Film anschauen?
Gemietete Filme können Sie während fünf Tagen (120 Stunden) so oft anschauen wie Sie möchten und auf einem beliebigen Gerät fortsetzen. Dies gilt sowohl für die Miete im Abo wie die Einzelmiete.
Wer steckt hinter filmingo?
Die Plattform wird durch die Stiftung trigon-film betrieben und ersetzt das frühere Online-Kino des Filmverleihers. trigon-film ist eine nicht profitorientierte Schweizer Filmstiftung, die seit 1986 sorgfältig ausgewählte Filme aus Lateinamerika, Asien, Afrika und dem östlichen Europa im Kino, auf DVD und online herausbringt und sich für Filmschaffende einsetzt. Mit filmingo lancierte trigon-film 2019 eine Plattform für Arthouse-Filme, auf der auch ausgewählte Filme anderer Verleiher präsentiert werden. Somit bietet die Plattform im Abonnement eine schöne Vielfalt an Filmen aus dem World Cinema und europäischen Kino sowie an Filmklassikern aus aller Welt an.
In welchen Ländern kann ich filmingo nutzen?
Je nachdem, wo Sie sich befinden, variiert die Anzahl verfügbarer Filme aufgrund der rechtlichen Situation. In der Schweiz und in Liechtenstein gibt es keine Einschränkungen. Es werden Ihnen jeweils nur die Filme angezeigt, die an Ihrem aktuellen Standort verfügbar sind.
Welche Untertitel sind verfügbar?
Als Schweizer Plattform haben für uns deutsche und französische Untertitel Priorität und sind daher bei fast allen Filmen verfügbar. Je nach Rechten und Verfügbarkeit bieten wir auch englische oder italienische Untertitel an. Die Untertitel zu jedem Film können auf der jeweiligen Filmseite vor der Filmmiete eingesehen werden.
Kann ich einen Film herunterladen und unterwegs anschauen?
Nein. Die Filme können nicht heruntergeladen werden, Sie brauchen eine permanente Internet-Verbindung mit ausreichender Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit.

Testclip

Abonnement

Welche Filme kann ich mit einem Abo anschauen?
Sie können alle Filme anschauen, die an Ihrem Standort verfügbar sind. Es gibt keine zusätzlichen Einschränkungen.
Wie viele Filme kann ich mit einem Abo anschauen?
Je nach Abo können Sie monatlich zwei (Filmfriend-Abo), fünf (Filmfan-Abo) oder unbegrenzt viele Filme (Filmlover-Abo) ohne weitere Kosten mieten. Gemietete Filme können Sie während fünf Tagen (120 Stunden) so oft anschauen, wie Sie möchten und auf einem beliebigen Gerät fortsetzen.
In welchen Ländern ist das filmingo-Abo verfügbar?
Das Abo ist in der Schweiz, Österreich und Deutschland verfügbar. Je nachdem, in welchem Land Sie sich befinden, variiert die Anzahl verfügbarer Filme aufgrund der rechtlichen Situation. Es werden Ihnen jeweils nur die Filme angezeigt, die an Ihrem aktuellen Standort verfügbar sind.
Wie kann ich das Abo ausprobieren?
Fangen Sie mit dem monatlichen Filmfriend-Abo an. Wenn Sie danach nicht zufrieden sind, können Sie das Abo jederzeit in Ihrem Konto kündigen oder ein anderes Abo lösen.
Wie kann ich das Abo bezahlen?
Sie können Ihr Abo per Kreditkarte (Visa oder Mastercard), mit der PostFinance Card, via PostFinance E-Finance oder per Rechnung bezahlen. Sie haben die Wahl zwischen einem Jahresabonnement oder einer monatlichen Kreditkartenbelastung (nur Visa/Mastercard). Im Jahresabonnement erhalten Sie zwei Monate geschenkt. Wenn Sie per Rechnung bezahlen möchten, erfolgt die Freischaltung Ihres Abos in der Regel innerhalb von fünf Arbeitstagen nach Zahlungseingang. Wir informieren Sie per Mail, sobald Ihr Konto freigeschaltet ist.
Wann wird das monatliche Filmguthaben erneuert?
Das Filmguthaben wird jeweils an dem Tag erneuert, an welchem Sie das Abo gekauft haben. Beispiel: Wenn Sie Ihr Abo am 14. März kaufen, wird Ihr Filmguthaben jeweils am 14. des Monats erneuert. In Ihrem Konto haben Sie eine Übersicht über Ihr aktuelles Filmguthaben sowie über Ihre gemieteten Filme und die Mietdaten.
Kann ich ungenutztes Filmguthaben auf den nächsten Monat übertragen?
Nein. Ähnlich wie bei einem Handy-Abo verfällt das monatliche Filmguthaben, wenn es nicht genutzt wird. Falls Sie nicht jeden Monat Ihr volles Kontingent ausschöpfen, helfen Sie mit Ihrem Abo dennoch, das Filmschaffen aus Süd und Ost zu unterstützen!
Was passiert, wenn das Filmguthaben aufgebraucht ist?
Sie können weiterhin Filme einzeln mieten oder auf ein Abo mit mehr Filmguthaben wechseln (s. „Wie kann ich mein Abo wechseln?).
Wie kann ich mein Abo verlängern oder wechseln?
Sie finden alle Optionen zur Verlängerung oder Kündigung Ihres Abos unter "Mein Konto". Wenn Sie die automatische Verlängerung gewählt haben, wird Ihr Abo solange verlängert, bis Sie es unter "Mein Konto" kündigen. Wenn Sie Ihr Abo wechseln möchten (zum Beispiel ein Upgrade vom Filmfriend-Abo auf ein Filmfan-Abo), kündigen Sie Ihr bestehendes Abo und lösen Sie das gewünschte Abo neu. Das neue Abo wird automatisch an das gekündigte angehängt, es tritt also erst an dem Tag in Kraft, an welchem das gekündigte Abo abläuft. Wenn Sie ein sofortiges Upgrade wünschen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.
Wie kann ich mein Abo kündigen?
Bei monatlicher Bezahlung wird Ihr Abo automatisch verlängert. Sie können Ihr Abo jederzeit auf Ende Monat in Ihrem Konto kündigen. Klicken Sie dazu auf „Mein Konto“. Bei jährlicher Bezahlung haben Sie die Wahl zwischen automatischer Verlängerung oder dem Ablauf Ihres Abonnements nach einem Jahr. Wir schicken Ihnen einen Monat vor der Verlängerung eine Erinnerungsmail. Sie können die automatische Verlängerung jederzeit beenden. Klicken Sie dazu auf „Mein Konto“.
Wie kann ich eine andere Kreditkarte als Zahlungsmittel hinterlegen?
Um eine andere Kreditkarte zu verwenden, müssen Sie das laufende Abo kündigen und neu lösen. Das bestehende Abo wird per Ende der bereits bezahlten Periode aufgelöst und das neue Abo nahtlos daran angeschlossen.
Warum sind in Deutschland und Österreich weniger Filme als in der Schweiz online verfügbar?
Filmrechte sind an Territorien gebunden. Deshalb können wir alle Filme nur dort anbieten, wo die Rechte durch die unterschiedlichen Verleiher abgedeckt sind.
Wo kann ich mein geschenktes Abo einlösen?
Hier können Sie Ihr Geschenkabo einlösen. Sie müssen dazu erst ein Konto erstellen oder sich mit einem bereits bestehenden Konto einloggen.
Wie lange habe ich Zeit, mein geschenktes Abo einzulösen?
Der Gutschein ist zwei Jahre nach Kauf gültig. Die Gültigkeitsdauer ist auf dem Geschenkgutschein abgedruckt.

Filme schauen

Wie wechsle ich die Untertitel?
Um die Untertitel zu wechseln, klicken Sie im Player unten rechts auf die Schaltfläche "CC". In der App können Sie die Untertitel mit der Sprechblase unten rechts auswählen. Die verfügbaren Untertitel können Sie bereits vor der Filmmiete auf der jeweiligen Filmseite einsehen.
Die Wiedergabe ist nicht flüssig
Versuchen Sie andere Programme auf Ihrem Computer zu beenden und offene Browser-Tabs und -Fenster zu schliessen. Falls dies nicht hilft, wählen Sie eine kleinere Bildauflösung über den Einstellungs-Button im Player.
Die Wiedergabe unterbricht regelmässig
Video-Streaming erfordert hohe Übertragungsraten. Falls Sie über ein Drahtlosnetzwerk (WLAN oder mobiles Datennetz) mit dem Internet verbunden sind ist ein gutes Empfangssignal notwendig. Über die Player-Einstellungen können Sie die Videoauflösung reduzieren und Filme so auch über langsame Verbindungen anschauen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Verbindung über einen mobilen WLAN-Hotspot meistens zu langsam ist.
Die Videoqualität ist schlecht
Die meisten Filme sind in HD Auflösung (720p) verfügbar. Je nach Internetverbindung wählt der Player eine tiefere Auflösung. Über die Player-Einstellungen können Sie die Auflösung manuell ändern. Bei einigen älteren Titeln existieren keine einwandfreien digitalen Kopien. Wir möchten diese Filme auch auf vielfachen Wunsch trotzdem zugänglich machen, daher bieten wir sie in 480p an. Die Auflösung ist bereits vor Filmmiete auf der Filmseite ersichtlich.
Es werden keine Untertitel angezeigt
Die Untertitel können über die Schaltfläche "CC" im Player ausgewählt werden. Falls Sie ein iPhone oder iPad benutzen, empfehlen wir die Benutzung unserer iOS-App. Falls die Untertitel während dem Film verschwinden, versuchen Sie bitte, die Seite neu zu laden.
Die Wiedergabe auf meinem Fernseher oder Projektor ist nicht bildfüllend
Passen Sie im Menü Ihres Fernsehers oder Projektors das Bildverhältnis an.
Ich habe meinen Laptop über ein Kabel mit meinem Fernseher oder Projektor verbunden. Dabei kommt der Ton nicht vom gewünschten Gerät
Sie können in den Systemeinstellungen Ihres Laptops auswählen, ob der Ton über die internen Lautsprecher oder über das angeschlossene Gerät wiedergegeben werden soll.

Bei weiteren Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte per Mail an support@filmingo.ch oder telefonisch an +41 56 430 12 30.

Im Falle eines technischen Problems bitten wir Sie, per Mail eine möglichst genaue Beschreibung des Problems inkl. allfälliger Fehlermeldung (am besten mit Bildschirmfoto) sowie Angaben, mit welchen Geräten Sie den Film anschauen möchten.

Filmgenuss pur, rund um die Uhr: filmingo bietet eine kuratierte Auswahl an Arthouse-Filmen zum Streamen im Abonnement oder per Einzelmiete. Betrieben durch die Schweizer Stiftung trigon-film.

Support
+41 56 430 12 30
support@filmingo.ch
Mo-Fr von 9:00 bis 17:00 Uhr
Auf dem Laufenden bleiben

Jetzt anmelden für den monatlichen Newsletter von filmingo mit der Übersicht über alle neuen Filme, Kategorien und den Tipps des Monats!