Added to List
Removed from List
The request failed. Please make sure you are connected to the Internet and try again. If this does not help, we will be happy to support you by e-mail at support@filmingo.ch or by phone at +41 56 430 12 30
In order to create a list, please log in or register in case you do not have an account yet.

Une ville à Chandigarh (1965)

Alain Tanner, India

When, in 1947, a portion of Punjab province was assigned to the newly created Pakistani State, Albert Mayer began planning a new capital for the portion which remained in the possession of India. Le Corbusier had been responsible since the 1950s for general planning and, more particularly, for large-scale buildings typical of the governmental sector. A year after the death of Le Corbusier, Alain Tanner began shooting his film in a city still partially under construction, or even, in certain places, at the planning stage. The inhabitants of the metropolis, however, already numbered some 120,000.

Among the most modern of cities architecturally, Chandigarh was archaically constructed by hand. Impressions of this green horizontal city-brick not permitting vertical development-are captured in long static shots and numerous traveling shots. John Berger's commentary inscribes the visual beauty of that reality within a larger reflection: climate did strongly influence the decisions of the planners, whereas the new city did not succeed in breaking the old social rules with a single blow. These rules continue to determine the level of education and income, and it is not even possible for these workers who are in the process of constructing Chandigarh to live in it themselves.

However, the film partakes of Le Corbusier's optimism in its appreciation of architecture as an instrument aiding men to clarify their visions, to exercise their powers of discernment and to establish new relations, even if the results will only make themselves felt in the long term.

Duration
53 minutes
Language
OV English
Subtitles
-
Video Quality
720p
Available in
Worldwide

filmingo offers a curated selection of arthouse films for streaming by subscription or individual rental. Run by the Swiss foundation trigon-film.

Support
+41 56 430 12 30
support@filmingo.ch
Mo-Fr from 9am to 5pm
Stay connected

Sign up now for the monthly filmingo newsletter and stay up to date on all the new movies available for streaming as well as new categories and monthly film tips!

Zu Merkliste hinzugefügt
Von Merkliste entfernt
Die Anfrage ist fehlgeschlagen. Bitte stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie mit dem Internet verbunden sind und versuchen Sie es erneut. Falls dies nicht weiterhilft unterstützen wir Sie gerne per e-Mail unter support@filmingo.ch oder telefonisch unter +41 56 430 12 30
Um die Merkliste nutzen zu können, loggen Sie sich bitte ein oder registrieren Sie sich, falls Sie noch kein Konto bei uns haben.

Une ville à Chandigarh (1965)

Alain Tanner, Indien

Nachdem ein Teil der Provinz Pandschab 1947 dem neugeschaffenen Staat Pakistan zugeschlagen worden war, begann Albert Mayer mit der Planung einer neuen Hauptstadt für den bei Indien verbliebenen Teil. Ab 1950 war Le Corbusier für die Gesamtplanung und insbesondere für die repräsentativen Großbauten des Regierungsviertels verantwortlich. Ein Jahr nach dessen Tod drehte Alain Tanner seinen Film. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war manches noch im Bau oder erst in Planung, doch lebten bereits 120'000 Einwohner in der neuen Metropole.

Architektonisch eine der modernsten Städte, wurde Chandigarh in archaischer Weise von Hand gebaut. Die Impressionen aus dieser horizontalen, durchgrünten Stadt - Backstein ließ eine vertikale Entwicklung nicht zu - sind in langen Einstellungen und manchen Travellings eingefangen. Der Kommentar von John Berger stellt die visuelle Schönheit der vorgefundenen Realität in größere Zusammenhänge: das Klima hat die Entscheidungen der Planer stark beeinflusst, während es umgekehrt die neue Stadt, so Berger, nicht geschafft habe, die alten sozialen Regeln über Nacht zu durchbrechen. Diese bestimmen weiterhin Schulbildung sowie Verdienstmöglichkeiten, und den Bauarbeitern ist es nicht möglich, in jenem Chandigarh, das sie aufbauen, selber zu wohnen.

Doch der Film teilt den Optimismus von Le Corbusier, etwa in der Einschätzung, die Architektur könne den Menschen helfen, ihre Vorstellungen zu klären, Unterscheidungen zu treffen und (neue) Verknüpfungen herzustellen. Auch wenn dies möglicherweise erst langfristig Auswirkungen haben kann.

Dauer
53 Minuten
Sprache
OV Englisch
Untertitel
-
Video-Qualität
720p
Verfügbarkeit
Weltweit

Filmgenuss pur, rund um die Uhr: filmingo bietet eine kuratierte Auswahl an Arthouse-Filmen zum Streamen im Abonnement oder per Einzelmiete. Betrieben durch die Schweizer Stiftung trigon-film.

Support
+41 56 430 12 30
support@filmingo.ch
Mo-Fr von 9:00 bis 17:00 Uhr
Auf dem Laufenden bleiben

Jetzt anmelden für den monatlichen Newsletter von filmingo mit der Übersicht über alle neuen Filme, Kategorien und den Tipps des Monats!