Added to List
Removed from List
The request failed. Please make sure you are connected to the Internet and try again. If this does not help, we will be happy to support you by e-mail at support@filmingo.ch or by phone at +41 56 430 12 30
In order to create a list, please log in or register in case you do not have an account yet.

Le serviteur de Kali (2002)

Adoor Gopalakrishnan, India

Kaliyappan is the executioner of the Maharajah of Travancore. He lives on the edge of a small village in the magnificent countryside of Kerala. For generations his family has lived on the benefits granted to the Maharajah after every execution. But these are becoming increasingly rare, and Kaliyappan's family lives in misery. Paradoxically, the old executioner, tired of fulfilling a mission that had become a curse, has also become a healer.

Adoor Gopalakrishnan is one of the central figures in Indian cinema and one of the outstanding filmmakers from Kerala, whose film culture he and Shaji Karun have a major influence on. His film "Le serviteur de Kali" is a fable based on real facts. The first shot shows an old executioner looking at his hands. He feels guilty about the last execution and is afraid of the next one.

When he again receives the order to execute the sentence, Kaliyappan feels miserable, staggers around and drinks to forget his remorse and misery. As if the alcohol could lift the responsibility and replace the executioner. The son will execute the sentence, the curse threatening the family cannot be averted. In the end, the shadows of the procession are the dark shadows of an endless succession of mourning, unless they are the shadows of the cave. A hidden pearl of cinema.

Duration
89 minutes
Language
OV Malayalam
Subtitles
english, german, french, italian
Video Quality
480p
Available in
Worldwide

filmingo offers a curated selection of arthouse films for streaming by subscription or individual rental. Run by the Swiss foundation trigon-film.

Support
+41 56 430 12 30
support@filmingo.ch
Mo-Fr from 9am to 5pm
Stay connected

Sign up now for the monthly filmingo newsletter and stay up to date on all the new movies available for streaming as well as new categories and monthly film tips!

Zu Merkliste hinzugefügt
Von Merkliste entfernt
Die Anfrage ist fehlgeschlagen. Bitte stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie mit dem Internet verbunden sind und versuchen Sie es erneut. Falls dies nicht weiterhilft unterstützen wir Sie gerne per e-Mail unter support@filmingo.ch oder telefonisch unter +41 56 430 12 30
Um die Merkliste nutzen zu können, loggen Sie sich bitte ein oder registrieren Sie sich, falls Sie noch kein Konto bei uns haben.

Le serviteur de Kali (2002)

Adoor Gopalakrishnan, Indien

Kaliyappan ist der Henker des Maharadscha von Travancore. Er wohnt am Rande eines kleinen Dorfes in der prachtvollen Landschaft von Kerala. Seit Generationen lebt seine Familie von den Vergünstigungen, die ihr der Maharadscha nach jeder Hinrichtung gewährt. Doch diese werden immer seltener, und Kaliyappans Familie lebt im Elend. Paradoxerweise ist der alte Henker, der Erfüllung eines zum Fluch gewordenen Auftrags müde geworden, auch ein Heiler.

Adoor Gopalakrishnan gehört zu den zentralen Figuren im indischen Kino und zu den herausragenden Filmschaffenden aus Kerala, dessen Filmkultur er zusammen mit Shaji Karun ganz wesentlich prägt. Sein Film «Le serviteur de Kali» ist eine Fabel, die auf realen Fakten fusst. Die erste Einstellung zeigt einen alten Henker, der seine Hände betrachtet. Er hegt Schuldgefühle wegen der letzten Hinrichtung und hat Angst vor der nächsten.

Als er erneut den Befehl für eine Urteilsvollstreckung erhält, fühlt Kaliyappan sich elend, taumelt umher und trinkt, um seine Gewissensbisse und seine jämmerliche Lage zu vergessen. Als ob der Alkohol die Verantwortung aufheben und den Scharfrichter ersetzen könnte. Der Sohn wird das Urteil vollstrecken, der über der Familie drohende Fluch lässt sich nicht abwenden. Am Ende sind die Schatten des Umzugs die düsteren Schatten eines endlosen Trauergefolges, es sei denn, sie wären die Schatten der Höhle: «Der Film erforscht die unbekannten Räume des Bewusstseins, des Realen und des Imaginären.». Eine verborgene Perle des Kinos.

Dauer
88 Minuten
Sprache
OV Malayalam
Untertitel
Deutsch, Französisch, Englisch, Italienisch
Video-Qualität
480p
Verfügbarkeit
Weltweit

Filmgenuss pur, rund um die Uhr: filmingo bietet eine kuratierte Auswahl an Arthouse-Filmen zum Streamen im Abonnement oder per Einzelmiete. Betrieben durch die Schweizer Stiftung trigon-film.

Support
+41 56 430 12 30
support@filmingo.ch
Mo-Fr von 9:00 bis 17:00 Uhr
Auf dem Laufenden bleiben

Jetzt anmelden für den monatlichen Newsletter von filmingo mit der Übersicht über alle neuen Filme, Kategorien und den Tipps des Monats!