Added to List
Removed from List
The request failed. Please make sure you are connected to the Internet and try again. If this does not help, we will be happy to support you by e-mail at support@filmingo.ch or by phone at +41 56 430 12 30
In order to create a list, please log in or register in case you do not have an account yet.

Tabu (2012)

Miguel Gomes, Portugal

Watch the trailer

The old Portuguese Aurora and her Cape Verdean housekeeper Santa live next door to Pilar, whose purpose in life is to do good. Hardly anyone thanks her for this, especially not the notoriously suspicious Aurora, who spends the rest of her life gambling away her scarce money in the Casino of Estoril. When the old woman dies, Pilar finds the trail of an old lover of Aurora.

To make films without referring to film history is unthinkable for director Miguel Gomes. And so TABU quotes a title by Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau not without reason. Gomes interprets and rearranges historical motifs in his third feature film. While the first part of the film draws a society in soft black and white tones that indulges in nostalgia, in the second part it receives what it longs for: stirring melodrama, slapstick, contrasts, passion.

Duration
119 minutes
Language
OV Portuguese
Subtitles
german, french
Video Quality
1080p
Available in
Switzerland, Liechtenstein

filmingo offers a curated selection of arthouse films for streaming by subscription or individual rental. Run by the Swiss foundation trigon-film.

Support
+41 56 430 12 30
support@filmingo.ch
Mo-Fr from 9am to 5pm
Stay connected

Sign up now for the monthly filmingo newsletter and stay up to date on all the new movies available for streaming as well as new categories and monthly film tips!

Ajouté à la liste
Supprimé de la liste
La requête a échoué. Veuillez vous assurer que vous êtes connecté à Internet et réessayer. Si cela ne vous aide pas, nous serons heureux de vous aider par e-mail à l'adresse support@filmingo.ch ou par téléphone au +41 56 430 12 30
Pour utiliser votre liste, prière de vous identifier ou, si vous n'avez pas encore de compte, d'en créer un.

Tabu (2012)

Miguel Gomes, Portugal

Aurora, octogénaire au fort tempérament, n'en finit pas de se lamenter auprès de son aimable voisine, de se montrer injuste avec sa femme de ménage noire et de déplorer que sa fille ne vienne plus la voir à Lisbonne. Quand elle meurt, sa voisine découvre alors le passé de la vieille dame marqué par une tragique et merveilleuse histoire d'amour au coeur de l'Afrique colonisée d'alors. Cette histoire débute ainsi: «Aurora avait une ferme en Afrique au pied du Mont Tabu...»
Construit en deux parties, le film dépeint d'abord une société qui se complaît dans la nostalgie d'un paradis perdu.
Loin de la grisaille du présent, il révèle ensuite ce paradis qui seul peut exister dans les souvenirs. S'ouvre alors un chapitre romanesque, fait d'aventures et d'amours charnelles, transgressives et passionnées.

«Un film à l'humour léger et subtil, mais aussi à la mélancolie sombre qui affecte même un crocodile. Le film m'a entraîné dans son mystérieux tourbillon et m'a laissé plein d'exaltation et de réflexion.»

Hannes Baumgartner
Durée
118 minutes
Langue
VO portugais
Sous-titres
allemand, français (vostfr)
Qualité
1080p
Disponibilité
Suisse, Liechtenstein